It’s a Revolution (Rolls….)

I’ve been playing around with the Revolution Rolls recipe…..I finally figured out what they remind me of…..the taste is similar to a Dutch Baby pancake before the butter, lemon and sugar are added. The texture is kind of like a meringue cookie – not as crisp- but airy and light.

(Please note: if you decide to make a batch you MUST cook these on parchment paper! They will permanently stick to your non-stick pan if you don’t. I used a Demarle Silpat and it completely RUINED it. Permanentely adhered to the silpat and I had to soak it in vinegar and do a vinegar/baking soda scrub on it for 2 days before they came off….and at that it left stains. Use the Parchment paper. Do not attempt without parchment paper!)

So yesterday I made my 2nd attempt at Revolution Rolls because I was simply looking for a low-carb bread substitute for my pastrami sandwich (lower carb and higher protein than my Orowheat Sandwich Thins).  It was a’aight (Randy Jackson a’aight).  Hardly a bread substitute.  Not the same flavor, texture, consistency, blah blah blah.  But they are ‘good’ and definitely a filling and healthy meal option or snack.

For my afternoon snack I decided to see if I could make one taste like a Dutch Baby for real- so I dotted some melted butter and sprinkled some lemon juice on top- and took a bite- and hey, close enough!  I think these make a much better dessert than bread-product.

Today I made another batch.  I wanted to see if there was a way to ‘flavor’ them for snacking purposes.  I made them three ways:

1) Waffles! These actually came out pretty good!  Thin, airy, but good!  So I’m thinkig if a recipe makes 6 rolls and 2 rolls makes 1/3 of a Lean exchange, then can’t you eat all 6 in one serving?  Cuz you’d have to stack all 6 waffles to make the height of a regular one!  ha ha ha…  Anyway, it was good and would make a good low-carb sugar-free substitute for regular waffles!

BTW, if you decide to eat all 6 as waffles in one sitting, here’s the nutrition specs for that indulgence:

Calories:    336
Fat:              24
Sodium:    276
Carbs:           6
Sugar:           6
Protein:       19

Conversely, 1 regular waffle (Krusteaz mix) would be:

Calories:    218
Fat:               10
Sodium:     383
Carbs:           25
Sugar:            11
Protein:         6

This goes back to my ‘sacrifice fat for sugar’ dealio that I’m OK with!

2) Cinnamon topping.  Before baking I sprinkled the top of one with a cinnamon/sugar blend. Yes, I used real sugar because it’s a micro micro micro 1/100th of teaspoon amount.  I only baked them for 20 minutes this time and that seemed almost too long.

3) Cheese and Garlic.  Before baking I sprinkled the top with some garlic salt and then a slight sprinkling of italian blend shredded cheese.

Since I had already eaten lunch (a Lean and Green plate of fish and the other half of my banana from this morning)..oh and one of the waffles (plain)…I had to wait until PM snack time to give these babies a sampling….

And….

The Cinnamon roll was pretty good….not as good as an elephant ear or cinnamon toast, but it was pretty good.

The Italian Cheese and Garlic roll was really good….definitely a make again recipe!

 

So here’s the recipe I follow:

Revolution Rolls

Ingredients:
3 eggs at room temp
3 tablespoons light cream cheese at room temp
A pinch or 1/16 tsp cream of tartar (you can use white vinegar or lemon juice as a substitute)
1 packet splenda (1 Condiment)
Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Separate egg whites from egg yolks, putting whites in one bowl and yolks in another bowl. Add cream of tartar (or vinegar or lemon juice) to whites. Beat whites on high until stiff peaks form (about 4 minutes!!). Set aside.
Add cream cheese and splenda to yolks. Whisk yolk mixture until blended. Gently whisk yolk mixture into whites being careful to not over mix and make the whites fall. On a cookie sheet lined w parchment paper, make six equal sized blobs, not touching.
Bake at 350 for 30 to 35 minutes (Mine cooked in 20 minutes). They are good warm, but awesome cold and can be toasted without problem! Freeze the left overs in plastic wrap or individual sandwich bags or keep them in the fridge for up to 5 daysin a large ziploc bag. Toast them to make them crispy again!
Makes 6 Rolls or 3 servings
2 Rolls is 1/3 Lean and 1.33 Condiments on the Take Shape for Life meal plan
Leave a Reply

