Ten Week Update

                                                  Target                Current
Weight:                                  122.4                   122.8
Waist (narrowest point):     27.25                   27.1
Waist (belly button line):    29.25                   29.25
Hips:                                        35.5                     35.2
Thighs:                                    20.2                     20.1

YAY!!  I’ve been able to maintain size for 4 weeks now!  YAY!!

My goal for this week was to continue eating every 3 hours, targeting 6:30am, 9:30am, 12:30, 3:30pm, 6:30pm.  I figure that’s just a good life-long habit to get into.  I didn’t have a particular target for calories or fat or carbs or sugar…I just tried to eat as balanced as I could, still not eating pasta or starches.

I would eat a Medifast meal for breakfast, a healthy late-morning snack (usually yogurt or peanut-butter toast), a lean-and-green type healthy lunch, a Medifast afternoon snack, and a regular (and hopefully balanced) dinner.  Although there’s the nights where it’s go-go-go and I can’t have a sit down healthy dinner.  In that case it’s a Medifast bar for dinner instead and a hefty yet balanced afternoon snack.  I’m trying to eat no more than 2 Medifast meals per day.

Consumed     Calories /  Fat  / Carbs / Sugar / Protein
Saturday             1,371  /   86  /     76   /    34    /    67
Sunday               1,514  /    57  /    154  /    80    /    98
Monday              1,570 /    87  /   136   /    79    /    67
Tuesday              1,238 /   30  /   142   /    78    /   105
Wednesday        1,626 /   63  /   171   /    65    /    105
Thursday            1,630 /   69  /   140   /   53    /   112
Friday                 1,880 /   77   /  155    /   48   /   150
____________________________________
Target:                1,514  /   31  /  181   /   64    /   143

Sunday: One of my favorite breakfasts that I’ve been missing the past two months is the Original Pancake House’s Apple Pancake.  Man I love those!  I thought for sure it would be balanced enough to eat since it’s base is egg and milk……but unfortunately it’s not.  Half a pie plate is about 378 calories, 17 grams of fat, 55 carbs, 25 grams of sugar and 12 grams of protein.  That’s a Carb/Protein ratio of 58%/19%.  YIKES.  The next time I make it I’ll be tweaking my recipe to include whole wheat flour instead of regular flour, splenda, and I’ll add some TVP (texturized vegetable protein- basically dehydrated soy flakes).  I’ll keep you posted on how THAT tastes!  ha ha

Monday: I found a recipe for a low carb crepe that sounded good for lunch.  Basically instead of flour, milk and egg for the crepe, it’s egg and cream cheese!  Not quite the same texture or flavor, but close enough.  For the filling I used a small amount of cream cheese with a teaspoon of splenda added, and a 1/4 cup of frozen blueberries which I steamed in the microwave so they were nice and juicy and warm.   OH, I used lowfat cream cheese instead of regular, and the recipe called for 2 eggs but I used 1 egg and 1 egg white.  This lunch was 486 calories and contained 37 grams of fat (yikes!), 17 carbs, 15 grams of sugar and 21 grams of protein for a ratio of 14%/17%.  At least the carbs and protein were in balance with each other- it was just super high in fat.  BUT, it was very filling and taste satisfying!!  Since we were on the go at dinner time, I opted to have a healthy afternoon snack of peanut butter on an Orowheat Sandwich Thin, plus half a banana.  MF bar for dinner since it was a go-go-go night.  I was very bad after dinner, though, snacking on sugar-loaded items: 2 Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark Squares and 2 Lindt Lindor Truffles.  Ugh.

Tuesday: I kicked off the morning eating 1/2 a Medifast pudding, then spending 25 minutes on the elliptical at a mid-range resistance setting for more of a muscle toning or strength training versus cardio workout….going slow and steady with a purpose.  I ate my MF pancakes for breakfast at normal time.  AM snack was a greek yogurt.  For lunch I ate the leftover Tandoori chicken (about 1/2 a breast) with sauteed cabbage.   A lot of sauteed cabbage.  I was stuffed!  Afternoon snack was a MF brownie with half a banana and a dallop of whipped cream (1 gram sugar).  Dinner was Chicken Sliders (shredded chicken mixed with Cream of Chicken soup and BBQ sauce….mine was on an Orowheat Sandwich thin, I also had another scoopful on a bed of romaine lettuce.

Wednesday: No workout this morning.  My breakfast was typical- MF pancake!  AM Snack was muesli (a mixture of Old Fashioned Oats, 1/4 of an apple, 1/2 a greek yogurt, cinnamon, brown sugar) and for added protein I added 1 T of TVP (Texturized Vegetable Protein).  It adds some “crunch” too, making my muesli a little more granola like.  Lunch was Tuna Salad on 1/2 an Orowheat Sandwich Thin with a whole lotta lettuce.   I’ve been craving this for a few days now.  And it was very filling.  Basically half a can of tuna, 1 T of mayo, and like I said- a whole lotta lettuce!  PM snack was MF vanilla pudding and a handful of Kettle brand chips (bad, I know).  Dinner was a MF crunch bar and half a Costco Polish Dog (with bun).  But then when we were home at 8:30 I was super hungry- ate 1/2 a slice of Tillamook Cheddar and a Special K Strawberry cereal bar, and a half glass of skim milk.  So upset with myself!

Thursday:  Another workout!  Yay!  My butt isn’t going to get any firmer hanging out in bed, right?  To jumpstart my metabolism I ate 1/2 a MF pudding before the workout (at 5:20am), then my usual MF pancake for breakfast (at 6:30am).  Still feeling super hungry at 7:30 so I ate the other 1/2 of the pudding.   AM snack was late, and ended up being a taste test of some diabetic muffins I was making: Chocolate Cream Cheese Muffins.  I exchanged 2/3 of the flour for whole wheat flour and ground Fiber One cereal!  They were yummy!  I ate 2, er 3.  They are small- only about 1.25″ thick- so not a standard muffin.   🙂  Lunch was also late due to me not being hungry from eating those 3 muffins!  I had made Revolution Rolls and decided to make myself a grilled Pastrami sandwich using 2 Revolution Rolls for the bread.  I topped it with lots of lettuce, too. It wasn’t nearly as good as a regular pastrami sandwich, but oh well. PM snack was unintentional and not according to plan.  I was supposed to have a MF shake.  Instead I ate 3 of the Revolution Rolls sprinkled with butter and lemon.  I finally figured out what they remind me of!  They taste a lot like a Dutch Baby pancake but unsweetened and a different texture, but quite similar in taste.  So I taste tested the butter and lemon on it (like a Dutch Baby would have) and yep!  They make a good ‘dessert’.  I also inadvertantly ate another one of those muffins I made earlier (as I had Riley and Trevor sample them).  Then I mixed my planned MF shake and started drinking it.  It was too much.  I was full.  I tossed the last 1/2 of the shake.  I thought I was going to explode.  Dinner was some fish that Jim brought home the day before (traegered steelhead).  I ate two ‘steaks’ which were really thin so probably not more than a couple ounces of actual meat.  Still hungry I ate the leftover oatmeal from yesterday with the other half of the Chobani greek yogurt.  I feel stuffed again.  Of course I’ve been drinking a lot of water.

Friday I woke up too late to do an elliptical workout…dang it!  Breakfast was a MF pancake and coffee (as usual).  Forgot to add that starting Tuesday I switched to a fat-free Half & Half because the calories and sugar content appeared to be the same between the two brands I was comparing.  AM snack was the last chocolate cheesecake muffin, 1/2 a banana and the other half of my shake from yesterday.  3 coffees today.  Before lunch I made another attempt at Revolution Rolls.  Lunch was the rest of the fish (this time I weighed it- it was 5 oz), I snacked on 3 T of 1/3 fat cream cheese, and had one of the Revolution Rolls baked as a waffle!   Ugh, full again.  PM snack was 2 other Revolution Rolls as taste tests- one was Cinnamon topped and the other was Italian Cheese and Garlic topped.  Dinner tonight at Red Robin- I ordered their Chicken Caprese Sandwich and a side-salad instead of fries (although i did eat a few of hubby’s fries!).  Their nutrition guideline showed it would be 52 carbs….but also 58 grams of protein- balanced enough for me!  Surprisingly the calorie count for the day was below 2,000!

Leave a Reply

