Whole Grain Waffle Recipe (no added sugar!)

Oh my gosh….the kids wanted waffles for breakfast so I googled “Low Carb Waffle” and came up with the recipe below.  It was sooooo goooood.   Very whole-grain tasting, but in a good way.  Super fluffy and light, too!  I thought they were perfect and tasted like they came from a restaurant.

I had the kids (and Jim) all take a bite and all agreed it was good.  They obviously preferred their Krusteaz version instead, but agreed that it was good enough to eat if that was all I made.

The original recipe called for cottage cheese, but that’s not something I keep in the house, so I made the recipe with some non-fat plain Greek yogurt instead.  Actually made it even more nutritious this way, too!

Here’s how it compares to a regular Krusteaz waffle (per waffle):

My recipe Krusteaz
Calories 112 154
Fat 4.4 4.7
Sodium 83 375
Carbs 8.2 25
Fiber 1.2 1.2
Sugar 1.8 3.7
Protein 8.7 3.7

Double the protein, 1/3 of the carbs, 1/4 of the sodium and 1/2 the sugar!  The fat in the recipe comes from the eggs…you could probably use an egg substitute or egg whites in lieu of whole eggs to reduce the fat content.

Anyway- a great new waffle recipe to use once you are in the maintenance portion of the TSFL program…..or want to feed your family guilt-free!  (I’ll admit that I ate two waffles for my breakfast).

WHOLE GRAIN WAFFLES:

(Recipe makes 5 waffles….adjust measurements as needed to suit your needs)

1 cup Old-Fashioned Oatmeal, uncooked
2 T wheat germ
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt
1.5 tsp Splenda no-calorie sweetener
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs

Put the oats and wheat germ in a blender or food processor to blend to a fine powder.  Add remaining ingredients and pour onto hot and well-oiled waffle iron set to a higher temperature setting (our waffle iron has temperatures 1-5 and I usually cook at setting 3.  For these I cooked at setting 4.)

(click here for a printable recipe)

Leave a Reply

