Adding Creamer to your Coffee?

If you know me well enough, you know that I have a huge sweet tooth, I love anything chocolate, it took me a long time to kick my coca-cola and dark chocolate habit. I also love coffee. A lot. If I could have a Starbucks every day, I would. But unless I want to be 20 pounds heavier, I can’t. One Starbucks takes up 1/3 of my daily allotment of calories, not to mention about 3 days worth of my sugar limit!

(Do I count calories? No. Do I count grams of sugar? No. But I know how I was eating (and what I was eating) when I was maintaining 123-125 and I know that I’m eating more than that now- and that has me fluctuating between 125-129. I know I’m not eating right.)

Coffee. Prior to the TSFL program, I was drinking a French Press coffee every day, mixed with about 4 ounces of steamed and frothed skim milk, and a splash of Torani syrup (variety of flavors). Here’s a link to my home-made latte “recipe”.

When I started the TSFL program, milk was off limits. Even though it’s skim milk. Why? Because there’s sugar in skim-milk. There’s no sugar in half-and-half, however….so that was a legal condiment that could be added to my coffee. And Torani makes sugar free syrups, which is another freebie on TSFL, so I was able to keep my coffee habit going.

It took a while to get used to the different taste, but now that’s how I drink my coffee now and I’m perfectly happy with it. A splash of half-and-half and a splash of sugar-free Torani syrup (my favorites are the White Chocolate, Dulce de Leche, and the Peppermint Paddy).

Last week we had a week-long camping trip. I buy my half-and-half by the half-gallon, which isn’t very portable for camping, so I considered treating myself to some Coffeemate flavored creamer….after all it’s been a few years since I’ve had it- and we’re going to be camping. I’m at the grocery store and I pick up a small bottle and before I put it in my cart, I read the label:

IMG_5529

Ingredients: water, sugar, oil…….?? Um, where’s the CREAM?

No way. I’m not adding this to my coffee. It’s a “chemical shitstorm”. That’s the new word for most of today’s food products…it’s not food, it’s chemicals created to taste like food! Check out honey- it’s not always “honey”, and cheese isn’t always “cheese”. Even a lot of juice isn’t real juice, it’s water with “cranberry flavoring”. Geez.

Anyway, I put it back. No way am I going to drink that crap.

By comparison, look at my half-and-half label:

IMG_5532

You betcha! It’s MILK and CREAM. No crap added.

About 4 days into our trip, I run out of creamer. OK, OK, OK, there’s a grocery store nearby so I succumb to the tastiness of Coffeemate (even though I know it’s super bad), and I pick up a bottle for the last couple days of our trip.

IMG_5534

Oh yummy! Even thought it’s a “chemical shitstorm” and each serving contains 5 grams of sugar, I happily add it to my coffee.

After our camping trip, there’s still half a bottle left, so I bring it home and for the couple days at home I add it to my coffee. Feeling horribly guilty each time.

1) it’s a chemical shitstorm

2) it contains 5 grams of sugar per serving

Why am I adding this CRAP to my body? Here’s the label again for Half-and-Half:

IMG_5531

Half-and-half has 5 more calories, 1.5 more grams of fat…..but it also has 1 gram of PROTEIN and only 1 gram of sugar.

And the Coffeemate?

IMG_5530

5 grams of sugar. No protein. Chemical shitstorm.

Sugar is the devil. I’m telling you. If you want to lose weight the first thing you should do is cut out all added sugars.

Every. gram. counts. Trust me.

There’s sugar in milk, sugar in yogurt, sugar in processed foods, sugar in bread, sugar in your coffee creamer. Check the labels.

So that’s my confession. I caved and bought Coffeemate and have regretted it ever since. I poured the rest of the bottle down the drain, and am happily back to drinking real half-and-half and sugar free Torani flavoring in my coffee.

Leave a Reply

